PE Research Seminar: Bogdan Popescu

Thu, Feb 21, 2019, 12:15 pm

Secure property rights are often deemed to be necessary for long-term development. Yet what happens when historical states institutionalize communal property rights based on family clans? I address this question by examining the long-term effects of communal property rights that were part of the Habsburg frontier system from 1551 until 1881. Using a regression discontinuity design and focusing on a part of the border that is today part of Croatia, I first show that the Habsburg Empire adopted communal property rights in the form of zadrugas, as a means to ensure the subsistence of borderland dwellers and maintain their allegiance. Despite the dissolution of the military colony in 1881, communal property rights persisted. In the long run, municipalities in the former military colony have lower household consumption, schooling, and public goods provision. The effect of communal property rights is exacerbated by low institutional and interpersonal trust.

Location: 
Fisher 200

Upcoming

PEW: Edward Glaeser

Mon, Feb 25, 2019, 4:30 pm
Location: 127 Corwin Hall

PE Research Seminar: In Young Park

Thu, Feb 28, 2019, 12:15 pm
Location: Fisher 200

PEW: Monica Martinez-Bravo

Mon, Mar 4, 2019, 4:30 pm
Location: 127 Corwin Hall

PE Research Seminar: Dan Gibbs

Thu, Mar 7, 2019, 12:15 pm
Location: Fisher 200

PEW: Juan Ortner

Mon, Mar 11, 2019, 4:30 pm
Location: 127 Corwin Hall

PE Research Seminar: Matias Iaryczower

Thu, Mar 14, 2019, 12:15 pm
Location: Fisher 200

Princeton/Warwick/Utah Political Economy Conference 2019

Sat, Mar 23, 2019 (All day) to Sun, Mar 24, 2019 (All day)

PEW: Gilat Levy

Mon, Mar 25, 2019, 4:30 pm
Location: 127 Corwin Hall

PE Research Seminar: Korhan Kocak

Thu, Mar 28, 2019, 12:15 pm
Location: Fisher 200

PEW: Guido Tabellini

Mon, Apr 8, 2019, 4:30 pm
Location: 127 Corwin Hall