PE Research Seminar: Korhan Kocak

Tue, Sep 17, 2019, 12:15 pm

Candidates in primary elections face a trade-off between ideological proximity to the party’s base and the probability of winning the general election. I describe conditions under which an incumbent politician provokes the opposition party into nominating more extreme candidates. By moving away from the center, the incumbent can exploit the divisions in the opposition party and improve her reelection prospects, despite hurting her appeal to the median voter in the general election. I identify primaries as an understudied mechanism that drives political polarization in two-party democracies. Furthermore, the analysis fits the observation that reelection-seeking incumbents sometimes move away from the center towards the end of their first term in office. I show that party gatekeeping drives this behavior: with a richer set of candidates, the effect disappears.

Location: 
Fisher 200

Upcoming

PEW: Vincent Pons

Mon, Feb 24, 2020, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm
Location: 127 Corwin Hall

PE Research Seminar: Daniel Morrison

Tue, Feb 25, 2020, 12:15 pm
Location: Fisher 200

PE Research Seminar: Nikita Melnikov

Tue, Mar 3, 2020, 12:15 pm
Location: Fisher 200

PEW: Marina Agranov

Mon, Mar 9, 2020, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm
Location: 127 Corwin Hall

PE Research Seminar: Korhan Kocak

Tue, Mar 10, 2020, 12:15 pm
Location: Fisher 200

Princeton/Warwick/Utah Political Economy Conference 2020

Fri, Mar 20, 2020, 9:00 am to Sat, Mar 21, 2020, 7:00 pm
Location: Rome, Italy

PE Research Seminar: Brendan Cooley

Tue, Mar 24, 2020, 12:15 pm
Location: Fisher 200

RPPE Visitors: Ying Chen

Mon, Mar 30, 2020 (All day) to Fri, Apr 3, 2020 (All day)

PEW: Ying Chen

Mon, Mar 30, 2020, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm
Location: 127 Corwin Hall

PE Research Seminar: Kathy Ingram

Tue, Mar 31, 2020, 12:15 pm
Location: Fisher 200