PE Research Seminar: Nikita Melnikov

Tue, Mar 3, 2020, 12:15 pm

How does the internet affect government approval? Using surveys of 840,537 individuals from 2,232 subnational regions in 116 countries in 2008-2017 from the Gallup World Poll and the global expansion of 3G networks, we show that an increase in broadband mobile internet access reduces government approval. This effect is present only when the internet is not censored and is stronger when traditional media is censored. 3G internet helps expose actual corruption in government: revelations of the Panama Papers and corruption incidents translated into higher perceptions of corruption in regions covered by 3G networks. The disillusionment of voters with governments had electoral implications: In Europe, the expansion of mobile internet led to a decrease in vote shares of incumbent parties and an increase in vote shares of antiestablishment populist opposition, but not of nonpopulist opposition, whose political support was unaffected by the expansion of 3G networks.

Location: 
Fisher 200
Speaker(s): 

Upcoming

RPPE Visitors: Ying Chen

Mon, Mar 30, 2020 (All day) to Fri, Apr 3, 2020 (All day)

PE Research Seminar: Dan McGee

Tue, Apr 7, 2020, 12:15 pm
Location: Fisher 200

PE Research Seminar: Ashutosh Thakur

Tue, Apr 14, 2020, 12:15 pm
Location: Fisher 200

PEW: Federica Izzo (CANCELED)

Mon, Apr 20, 2020, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm
Location: 101 JRR

PE Research Seminar: Maria Micaela Sviatschi

Tue, Apr 21, 2020, 12:15 pm
Location: Fisher 200

PEW : Jörg Spenkuch

Mon, Apr 27, 2020, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm
Location: 101 JRR

PE Research Seminar: Adrien Matray

Tue, Apr 28, 2020, 12:15 pm
Location: Fisher 200

PE Research Seminar: Peter Bils

Tue, May 5, 2020, 12:15 pm
Location: Fisher 200

PE Research Seminar: Karsten Müller

Tue, May 12, 2020, 12:15 pm
Location: Fisher 200

Princeton/Warwick/Utah Political Economy Conference 2020

Thu, Jul 2, 2020, 9:00 am to Fri, Jul 3, 2020, 7:00 pm
Location: Rome, Italy