PEW: Cesi Cruz

Mon, Sep 24, 2018, 4:30 pm

In this paper we show that social fragmentation can trigger increased electoral competition and improved provision of public goods. We test this using large-scale data on family networks from over 20 million individuals in 15,000 villages of the Philippines. We take advantage of naming conventions to assess intermarriage links between families and use community detection network algorithms to identify the relevant clans in all of those villages. We show that there is more public goods provision and political competition in villages with more fragmented social networks, a result that is robust to controlling for a large number of village characteristics and to alternative estimation techniques. Using original survey data collected in 284 villages after the 2013 local elections, we also show that fragmented villages are associated with a broader distribution of political influence.

Location: 

Upcoming

PEW: Cesi Cruz

Mon, Sep 24, 2018, 4:30 pm
Location: 127 Corwin Hall

PEC: Sepehr Shahshahani

Thu, Sep 27, 2018, 12:15 pm
Location: Fisher Hall 200

PEW: Georgy Egorov

Mon, Oct 1, 2018, 4:30 pm
Location: 127 Corwin Hall

PEC: Ted Enamorado

Thu, Oct 4, 2018, 12:15 pm
Location: Fisher Hall 200

PEC: Peter Bils

Thu, Oct 11, 2018, 12:15 pm
Location: Fisher Hall 200

PEW: Steven Callander

Mon, Oct 15, 2018, 4:30 pm
Location: 127 Corwin Hall

PEC: Kris Ramsay

Thu, Oct 18, 2018, 12:15 pm

PEW: Gerard Padro-i-Miquel

Mon, Oct 22, 2018, 4:30 pm
Location: 127 Corwin Hall

PEC: Gleason Judd

Thu, Oct 25, 2018, 12:15 pm
Location: Fisher Hall 200

PEW: Sergio Montero

Mon, Nov 5, 2018, 4:30 pm
Location: 127 Corwin Hall