PEW: Cesi Cruz

Mon, Sep 24, 2018, 4:30 pm

In this paper we show that social fragmentation can trigger increased electoral competition and improved provision of public goods. We test this using large-scale data on family networks from over 20 million individuals in 15,000 villages of the Philippines. We take advantage of naming conventions to assess intermarriage links between families and use community detection network algorithms to identify the relevant clans in all of those villages. We show that there is more public goods provision and political competition in villages with more fragmented social networks, a result that is robust to controlling for a large number of village characteristics and to alternative estimation techniques. Using original survey data collected in 284 villages after the 2013 local elections, we also show that fragmented villages are associated with a broader distribution of political influence.

Location: 

Upcoming

PEC: Maria Micaela Sviatschi

Thu, Nov 29, 2018, 12:15 pm
Location: Fisher Hall 200

PEW: Laurent Bouton

Mon, Dec 3, 2018, 4:30 pm
Location: 127 Corwin Hall

PEC: Brendan Cooley

Thu, Dec 6, 2018, 12:15 pm
Location: Fisher Hall 200

PEC: Federico Huneeus

Thu, Dec 13, 2018, 12:15 pm
Location: Fisher Hall 200

PEW: Alessandra Casella

Mon, Feb 11, 2019, 4:30 pm
Location: 127 Corwin Hall

PEW: Edward Glaeser

Mon, Feb 25, 2019, 4:30 pm
Location: 127 Corwin Hall

PEW: Monica Martinez-Bravo

Mon, Mar 4, 2019, 4:30 pm
Location: 127 Corwin Hall

PEW: Juan Ortner

Mon, Mar 11, 2019, 4:30 pm
Location: 127 Corwin Hall

Princeton/Warwick/Utah Political Economy Conference 2019

Sat, Mar 23, 2019 (All day) to Sun, Mar 24, 2019 (All day)

PEW: Gilat Levy

Mon, Mar 25, 2019, 4:30 pm
Location: 127 Corwin Hall