PEW: Guido Tabellini

Mon, Apr 8, 2019, 4:30 pm

We present a theory of identity politics that builds on two ideas. First, voters identify with the social group whose interests are closest to theirs and that features the strongest policy con.ict with outgroups. Second, identification causes voters to slant their beliefs toward the group.s distinctive opinion. The theory yields two main implications: i) voters.beliefs are polarized and distorted along group boundaries; ii) economic shocks that induce new cleavages to emerge also bring about large changes in beliefs and preferences across many policy issues. In particular, exposure to globalization or cultural changes may induce voters to switch identities, dampening their demand for redistribution and exacerbating con.icts in other social dimensions. We show that survey evidence is consistent with these implications.

Location: 

Upcoming

RPPE Visitors: Kristof Madarasz

Mon, Sep 23, 2019 (All day) to Fri, Sep 27, 2019 (All day)

PEW: Kristóf Madarasz

Mon, Sep 23, 2019, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm
Location: 127 Corwin Hall

PE Research Seminar: Simon Lazarus

Tue, Sep 24, 2019, 12:15 pm
Location: Fisher 200

PEW: Sara Lowes

Mon, Sep 30, 2019, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm
Location: 127 Corwin Hall

PE Research Seminar: Svetlana Kosterina

Tue, Oct 1, 2019, 12:15 pm
Location: Fisher 200

RPPE Visitors: Ernesto Dal Bo

Wed, Oct 2, 2019 (All day) to Wed, Oct 9, 2019 (All day)

Nathan Canen

Mon, Oct 7, 2019, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm
Location: Corwin 127

PE Research Seminar: Karsten Müller

Tue, Oct 8, 2019, 12:15 pm
Location: Fisher 200

PEW: Karam Kang

Mon, Oct 14, 2019, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm
Location: 127 Corwin Hall

PE Research Seminar: Parth Parihar

Tue, Oct 15, 2019, 12:15 pm