PEW: Jörg Spenkuch

Mon, Feb 15, 2021, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

In 1974, a federal court ordered that public schools in Jefferson County, KY be desegregated. To achieve racial integration, students were assigned to a busing schedule that depended on the first letter of their last name. This led to quasi-random variation in the number of years of busing and, for the initial cohorts, whether individuals were bused at all. We use this variation to estimate the long run impact of busing on political participation and preferences. Focusing on white males, we do not detect any effect on voter turnout. We do, however, find that busing significantly increases Democratic party affiliation more than forty years later. Consistent with the idea that attending a formerly black, city school causes a change in the broad ideological outlook of whites, we also find that bused individuals are less likely to donate to organizations that advocate for conservative causes.

Location: 
via Zoom

Upcoming

PEW: Laurent Bouton

Mon, Dec 6, 2021, 4:15 pm
Location: 127 Corwin

PE Research Seminar: Ephraim Shimko

Fri, Dec 10, 2021, 12:15 pm
Location: Wallace 300

PEW: Alessandra Casella

Mon, Feb 28, 2022, 4:15 pm

Princeton/Warwick/Utah Political Economy Conference 2022

Fri, Mar 11, 2022, 9:00 am to Sat, Mar 12, 2022, 5:00 pm
Location: Rome, Italy

PEW: Julia Cagé

Mon, Mar 14, 2022, 4:15 pm

PEW: Bard Harstad

Mon, Mar 21, 2022, 4:15 pm

PEW: Ceren Baysan

Mon, Mar 21, 2022, 4:15 pm

PEW: Helios Herrera

Mon, Apr 4, 2022, 4:15 pm

PEW: Marina Halac

Mon, Apr 18, 2022, 4:15 pm

PEW: Tianyi Wang

Mon, Apr 25, 2022, 4:15 pm