PEW: Ken Shotts

Mon, Apr 19, 2021, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

We develop a model of electoral accountability with mainstream and alternative media. In addition to regular high- and low-competence types, the incumbent may be an aspiring autocrat who controls the mainstream media and will subvert democracy if retained in office. A truthful alternative media can help voters identify and remove these subversive types while re-electing competent leaders. A malicious alternative media, in contrast, spreads false accusations about the incumbent and demotivates policy effort. If the alternative media is very likely to be malicious and hence is unreliable, voters ignore it and use only the mainstream media to hold regular incumbents accountable, leaving aspiring autocrats to win re-election via propaganda that portrays them as effective policymakers. When the alternative mediaís reliability is intermediate, voters heed its warnings about subversive incumbents, but the prospect of being falsely accused demotivates effort by regular incumbents and electoral accountability breaks down.

Location: 
via Zoom

Upcoming

PE Research Seminar: Ephraim Shimko

Fri, Dec 10, 2021, 12:15 pm
Location: Wallace 300

PEW: Alessandra Casella

Mon, Feb 28, 2022, 4:15 pm

Princeton/Warwick/Utah Political Economy Conference 2022

Fri, Mar 11, 2022, 9:00 am to Sat, Mar 12, 2022, 5:00 pm
Location: Rome, Italy

PEW: Julia Cagé

Mon, Mar 14, 2022, 4:15 pm

PEW: Bard Harstad

Mon, Mar 21, 2022, 4:15 pm

PEW: Ceren Baysan

Mon, Mar 21, 2022, 4:15 pm

PEW: Helios Herrera

Mon, Apr 4, 2022, 4:15 pm

PEW: Marina Halac

Mon, Apr 18, 2022, 4:15 pm

PEW: Tianyi Wang

Mon, Apr 25, 2022, 4:15 pm

PEW: Gerard Padró i Miquel

Mon, May 2, 2022, 4:15 pm