Political Economy Workshop

The Political Economy Workshop meets Mondays, 4:15-5:30pm.  All sessions will meet via ZOOM, for Spring 2021, unless otherwise noted. If you have questions, please contact the workshop organizers: Germán Gieczewski, Zhao Li, and Micaela Sviatschi.  To join the PEW-RPPE listserve for weekly announcements, please email Lindsay Woodrick

Upcoming Speaker Series Events

PEW: Monica Martinez-Bravo

Mon, May 10, 2021, 10:00 am to 11:15 am
Location: via Zoom
Speaker(s):

Past Events

PEW: John Duggan

Mon, Apr 26, 2021, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

PEW: Ken Shotts

Mon, Apr 19, 2021, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

We develop a model of electoral accountability with mainstream and alternative media. In addition to regular high- and low-competence types, the incumbent may be an aspiring autocrat who controls the mainstream media and will subvert democracy if retained in office. A truthful alternative media can help voters identify and remove these...

PEW: Keith Schnakenberg

Mon, Apr 12, 2021, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

Does motivated reasoning harm democratic accountability? Substantial evidence from political behavior research indicates that voters have "directional motives" beyond accuracy, which is often taken as evidence that they are ill-equipped to hold politicians accountable. We develop a model of electoral accountability with voters as motivated...

PEW: Caroline Le Pennec

Mon, Apr 5, 2021, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

PEW: Bruno Strulovici

Mon, Mar 8, 2021, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

PEW: Massimo Morelli

Mon, Mar 1, 2021, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

Institutions matter for the political choice of policies, and hence the consideration of the median voter's preferences should not be considered sufficient. We study theoretically and empirically how different electoral systems affect the level of openness of a country or city, zooming on the labor market as the main source of heterogeneous...

PEW: Anderson Frey

Mon, Feb 22, 2021, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

PEW: Jörg Spenkuch

Mon, Feb 15, 2021, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

PEW: Federica Izzo

Mon, Dec 7, 2020, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

PEW: Ying Chen

Mon, Nov 30, 2020, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

Pages