Political Economy Workshop

The Political Economy Workshop meets Mondays, 4:15-5:30pm.  All sessions will meet in 127 Corwin Hall, unless otherwise noted. If you have questions, please contact the workshop organizers: Germán Gieczewski, Zhao Li, and Micaela Sviatschi.  To join the PEW-RPPE listserve for weekly announcements, please email Lindsay Woodrick

Upcoming Speaker Series Events

PEW: Ying Chen

Mon, Nov 30, 2020, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm
Location: Zoom
Speaker(s):

PEW: Federica Izzo

Mon, Dec 7, 2020, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm
Location: Zoom
Speaker(s):

PEW: Jeff Ely

Mon, Apr 12, 2021, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm
Speaker(s):

Past Events

PEW: James Snyder

Mon, Oct 5, 2020, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

PEW: Arjada Bardhi

Mon, Sep 28, 2020, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

Diversity and Evidence in Minipublics. A select sample of citizens, a minipublic, advises a policymaker on the desirability of a policy by discovering citizen-specific evidence. A citizen's incentives to seek evidence hinge on the diversity of the minipublic and the political uncertainty regarding policy adoption.

PEW: Tamar Mitts

Mon, Sep 21, 2020, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

Can the ultra-rich shape electoral results by controlling media outlets that openly propagate their political interests? How consumers discount slanted media coverage is a question gaining urgency as a growing number of billionaires mix ownership of major media outlets with business interests and political agendas.

PEW : Jörg Spenkuch (CANCELED)

Mon, Apr 27, 2020, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

PEW: Federica Izzo (CANCELED)

Mon, Apr 20, 2020, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

PEW: Ying Chen

Mon, Mar 30, 2020, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

PEW: Marina Agranov

Mon, Mar 9, 2020, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

We conduct a series of laboratory experiments to study how groups aggregate information in settings in which group members repeatedly observe both private information about the state and either others members' actions or their actions and signals. Group members share common interests in guessing the state.

PEW: Andrew Hall CANCELED

Mon, Mar 2, 2020, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

The seminar for 3/2 has been CANCELED.

PEW: Vincent Pons

Mon, Feb 24, 2020, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

PEW: Raquel Fernandez

Mon, Dec 9, 2019, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

Pages