Political Economy Workshop

The Political Economy Workshop meets Mondays, 4:15-5:30pm.  All sessions will meet via ZOOM, for Spring 2021, unless otherwise noted. If you have questions, please contact the workshop organizers: Germán Gieczewski, Zhao Li, and Micaela Sviatschi.  To join the PEW-RPPE listserve for weekly announcements, please email Lindsay Woodrick

Upcoming Speaker Series Events

PEW: Massimo Morelli

Mon, Mar 1, 2021, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

Institutions matter for the political choice of policies, and hence the consideration of the median voter's preferences should not be considered sufficient. We study theoretically and empirically how different electoral systems affect the level of openness of a country or city, zooming on the labor market as the main source of heterogeneous...

Location: via Zoom

PEW: Bruno Strulovici

Mon, Mar 8, 2021, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm
Location: via Zoom
Speaker(s):

PEW: Caroline Le Pennec

Mon, Apr 5, 2021, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm
Location: via Zoom
Speaker(s):

PEW: Keith Schnakenberg

Mon, Apr 12, 2021, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm
Location: via Zoom
Speaker(s):

PEW: Ken Shotts

Mon, Apr 19, 2021, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm
Location: via Zoom
Speaker(s):

PEW: John Duggan

Mon, Apr 26, 2021, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm
Location: via Zoom
Speaker(s):

PEW: Oeindrila Dube

Mon, May 3, 2021, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm
Location: via Zoom
Speaker(s):

PEW: Monica Martinez-Bravo

Mon, May 10, 2021, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm
Location: via Zoom
Speaker(s):

Past Events

PEW: Anderson Frey

Mon, Feb 22, 2021, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

PEW: Jörg Spenkuch

Mon, Feb 15, 2021, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

PEW: Federica Izzo

Mon, Dec 7, 2020, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

PEW: Ying Chen

Mon, Nov 30, 2020, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

PEW: James Snyder

Mon, Oct 5, 2020, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

PEW: Arjada Bardhi

Mon, Sep 28, 2020, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

Diversity and Evidence in Minipublics. A select sample of citizens, a minipublic, advises a policymaker on the desirability of a policy by discovering citizen-specific evidence. A citizen's incentives to seek evidence hinge on the diversity of the minipublic and the political uncertainty regarding policy adoption.

PEW: Tamar Mitts

Mon, Sep 21, 2020, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

Can the ultra-rich shape electoral results by controlling media outlets that openly propagate their political interests? How consumers discount slanted media coverage is a question gaining urgency as a growing number of billionaires mix ownership of major media outlets with business interests and political agendas.

PEW : Jörg Spenkuch (CANCELED)

Mon, Apr 27, 2020, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

PEW: Federica Izzo (CANCELED)

Mon, Apr 20, 2020, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

PEW: Ying Chen

Mon, Mar 30, 2020, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

Pages