Political Economy Workshop

The Political Economy Workshop meets Mondays, 4:30-6:00pm.  All sessions will meet in 127 Corwin Hall, unless otherwise noted. If you have questions, please contact the workshop organizers: Thomas Fujiwara and Matias Iaryczower.  To join the PEW-RPPE list serve for weekly announcements, please email Lindsay Woodrick

Upcoming Speaker Series Events

PEW: Nancy Qian

Mon, Nov 4, 2019, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm
Location: 127 Corwin Hall
Speaker(s):

PEW: Camilo García-Jimeno

Mon, Dec 2, 2019, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm
Location: 127 Corwin Hall
Speaker(s):

PEW: Raquel Fernandez

Mon, Dec 9, 2019, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm
Location: 127 Corwin Hall
Speaker(s):

PEW: Vincent Pons

Mon, Feb 24, 2020, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm
Speaker(s):

PEW: Matt Gentzkow

Mon, Mar 2, 2020, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm
Speaker(s):

PEW: Marina Agranov

Mon, Mar 9, 2020, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm
Speaker(s):

PEW: Ying Chen

Mon, Mar 30, 2020, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm
Speaker(s):

PEW: Jeff Ely

Mon, Apr 13, 2020, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm
Speaker(s):

PEW: Federica Izzo

Mon, Apr 20, 2020, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm
Speaker(s):

PEW : Jörg Spenkuch

Mon, Apr 27, 2020, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm
Speaker(s):

Past Events

PEW: Karam Kang

Mon, Oct 14, 2019, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

We exploit institutional changes in the enforcement of water quality regulations in California, and study regulatory discretion by identifying and estimating a structural model of strategic interactions between a regulator and a privately-informed discharger.

Nathan Canen

Mon, Oct 7, 2019, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

This paper investigates the determinants of political polarization, a phenomenon of increasing relevance in Western democracies. How much of polarization is driven by divergence in the ideologies of politicians? How much is instead the result of changes in the capacity of parties to control their members?

PEW: Sara Lowes

Mon, Sep 30, 2019, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

PEW: Kristóf Madarasz

Mon, Sep 23, 2019, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

PEW: Matt Jackson

Mon, Sep 16, 2019, 4:15 pm to 5:30 pm

We investigate the complementarity between informal communities and formal government enforcement of norms of reciprocation and exchange. We introduce a model in which people exchange informally within their community as well as externally on a market.

PEW: Horacio Larreguy

Mon, May 6, 2019, 4:30 pm

PEW: Erik Snowberg

Mon, Apr 29, 2019, 4:30 pm

PEW: Melissa Dell

Mon, Apr 22, 2019, 4:30 pm

Colonial powers typically organized economic activity in the colonies to maximize their economic returns. While the literature has emphasized long-run negative economic impacts via institutional quality, the changes in economic organization implemented to spur production historically could also directly influence economic organization in the...

PEW: Tim Besley

Tue, Apr 16, 2019, 12:45 pm

We develop a dynamic model of multi-dimensional politics to ex- plore how political cleavages, policies, and social identities interact over time. The model yields insights into the profound political changes we have witnessed around the world, as economic shocks and trend- wise breakdowns of traditional social hierarchies have reinvigorated...

PEW: Dorothy Kronick

Mon, Apr 15, 2019, 4:30 pm

Drug traffickers sometimes divide profits via peaceful agreement. Other times they fight. We propose a model to investigate this variation, focusing on the state’s effort to enforce prohibition. Seizing illegal goods generally increases trafficker profits, and higher profits fuel violence. Killing kingpins makes crime bosses short-sighted,...

Pages