Political Economy Workshop

The Political Economy Workshop meets Mondays, 4:30-5:45pm in Corwin 127.  If you have questions, please contact the workshop organizers: Gleason Judd, Alessandro Lizzeri, and Matias Iaryczower.  To join the PEW-RPPE listserve for weekly announcements, please email Lindsay Woodrick

Upcoming Speaker Series Events

PEW: Davide Cantoni
Mon, Feb 13, 2023, 4:30 pm

TBA

Location
127 Corwin Hall
PEW: Robert Carroll
Mon, Feb 20, 2023, 4:30 pm

TBA

Location
127 Corwin Hall
PEW: Kei Kawai
Mon, Feb 27, 2023, 4:30 pm

TBA

Location
127 Corwin Hall
PEW: Andreas Kleiner
Mon, Apr 10, 2023, 4:30 pm

TBA

Location
127 Corwin Hall
PEW: Karam Kang
Mon, Apr 17, 2023, 4:30 pm

TBA

Location
127 Corwin Hall
PEW: Nina Bobkova
Mon, Apr 24, 2023, 4:30 pm

TBA

Location
127 Corwin Hall
PEW: Frederico Finan
Mon, May 1, 2023, 4:30 pm

TBA

PEW: Paola Giuliano
Mon, May 8, 2023, 4:30 pm

TBA

Location
127 Corwin Hall

Past Events

PEW: Helios Herrera
Mon, Apr 4, 2022, 4:15 pm4:15 pm
PEW: Bard Harstad
Mon, Mar 21, 2022, 4:15 pm4:15 pm

Every government that controls an exhaustible resource must decide whether to exploit it or to conserve and thereby let the subsequent government decide whether to exploit or conserve. This paper develops a positive theory of this situation and shows when a small change in parameter values has a multiplier effect on exploitation. The multiplier…

PEW: Julia Cagé
Mon, Mar 14, 2022, 4:15 pm4:15 pm

What role do journalists and media owners play in slanting media content? In this paper, we open the black box of news production and investigate whether and how journalists themselves decide to bias the news and shield content production from owner influence. To do so, we build a novel dataset on hosts and guests in all French radio and…

PEW: Alessandra Casella
Mon, Feb 28, 2022, 4:15 pm4:15 pm

Liquid Democracy. Two Experiments: Under Liquid Democracy (LD), decisions are taken by referendum, but voters are allowed to delegate their votes to other voters. LD has been heralded as the golden medium between direct and representative democracy: better than the former because experts can be delegated votes and thus weigh more; better…

PEW: Laurent Bouton
Mon, Dec 6, 2021, 4:15 pm4:15 pm

New online platforms have played a central role in political campaigns over the last decades by allowing small contributors to intervene in local and national electoral politics, and potentially mitigate the capture of the political process by large donors. Their impact has not yet been evaluated. While the focus of the literature has mainly…

PEW: Claudio Ferraz
Mon, Nov 22, 2021, 4:15 pm4:15 pm
PEW: Patrick Francois
Mon, Oct 25, 2021, 4:15 pm4:15 pm
PEW: Ekaterina Zhuravskaya
Mon, Oct 11, 2021, 4:15 pm4:15 pm
PEW: Dana Foarta
Mon, Oct 4, 2021, 4:15 pm4:15 pm

The operation of markets and of politics are in practice deeply intertwined. Politi- cal decisions set the rules of the game for market competition and, conversely, market competitors participate in and influence political decisions. We develop an integrated model to capture the circularity between the two domains. We show that a positive…

PEW: Jon Eguía
Mon, Sep 27, 2021, 4:15 pm4:15 pm

Consider the following collective choice problem: a group of budget constrained agents must choose one of several alternatives. Can we design a simple budget balanced mechanism that: i) does not depend on the specific characteristics of the group, ii) does not require unaffordable transfers, and iii) implements utilitarianism if agents’…