Political Economy Workshop

The Political Economy Workshop meets Mondays, 4:30-5:45pm in Corwin 127.  If you have questions, please contact the workshop organizers: Gleason Judd, Alessandro Lizzeri, and Matias Iaryczower.  To join the PEW-RPPE listserve for weekly announcements, please email Lindsay Woodrick

Upcoming Speaker Series Events

PEW: Davide Cantoni
Mon, Feb 13, 2023, 4:30 pm

TBA

Location
127 Corwin Hall
PEW: Robert Carroll
Mon, Feb 20, 2023, 4:30 pm

TBA

Location
127 Corwin Hall
PEW: Kei Kawai
Mon, Feb 27, 2023, 4:30 pm

TBA

Location
127 Corwin Hall
PEW: Andreas Kleiner
Mon, Apr 10, 2023, 4:30 pm

TBA

Location
127 Corwin Hall
PEW: Karam Kang
Mon, Apr 17, 2023, 4:30 pm

TBA

Location
127 Corwin Hall
PEW: Nina Bobkova
Mon, Apr 24, 2023, 4:30 pm

TBA

Location
127 Corwin Hall
PEW: Frederico Finan
Mon, May 1, 2023, 4:30 pm

TBA

PEW: Paola Giuliano
Mon, May 8, 2023, 4:30 pm

TBA

Location
127 Corwin Hall

Past Events

PEW: Marina Agranov
Mon, Mar 9, 2020, 4:15 pm5:30 pm

We conduct a series of laboratory experiments to study how groups aggregate information in settings in which group members repeatedly observe both private information about the state and either others members' actions or their actions and signals. Group members share common interests in guessing the state. In addition to varying the information…

PEW: Andrew Hall CANCELED
Mon, Mar 2, 2020, 4:15 pm5:30 pm

The seminar for 3/2 has been CANCELED.

PEW: Vincent Pons
Mon, Feb 24, 2020, 4:15 pm5:30 pm
PEW: Raquel Fernandez
Mon, Dec 9, 2019, 4:15 pm5:30 pm
PEW: Camilo García-Jimeno
Mon, Dec 2, 2019, 4:15 pm5:30 pm
PEW: Nancy Qian
Mon, Nov 4, 2019, 4:15 pm5:30 pm
PEW: Karam Kang
Mon, Oct 14, 2019, 4:15 pm5:30 pm

We exploit institutional changes in the enforcement of water quality regulations in California, and study regulatory discretion by identifying and estimating a structural model of strategic interactions between a regulator and a privately-informed discharger. We find that even if the regulator’s objective function were the same across…

Nathan Canen
Mon, Oct 7, 2019, 4:15 pm5:30 pm

This paper investigates the determinants of political polarization, a phenomenon of increasing relevance in Western democracies. How much of polarization is driven by divergence in the ideologies of politicians? How much is instead the result of changes in the capacity of parties to control their members? We use detailed internal information on…

PEW: Sara Lowes
Mon, Sep 30, 2019, 4:15 pm5:30 pm
PEW: Kristóf Madarasz
Mon, Sep 23, 2019, 4:15 pm5:30 pm